Board Chair, Dr. Leena S. Guptha, Inducted into Massage Therapy Hall of Fame

Burr Ridge, Ill. (July 14, 2015) – The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) is pleased to announce the induction of Board Chair, Dr. Leena S. Guptha, into the 2015 Massage Therapy Hall of Fame.

Created by the founders of the World Massage Festival, the Massage Therapy Hall of Fame honors those having furthered the massage therapy profession. Inductees build bridges for the massage therapy profession by actively educating the general public about massage, as well as enlightening fellow therapists about different types of massage.

As Chair of the NCBTMB Board of Directors, Dr. Guptha is a dedicated strategist focused on collaboration and ambassadorship, continuously seeking to connect with all stakeholders within the medical and allied health professions to strengthen the role of massage therapy.

“It is an honor and a privilege to be inducted into the Massage Therapy Hall of Fame,” commented Dr. Guptha. “I encourage all massage therapists to contribute toward elevating the standards of our esteemed profession. Only together will we continue to move forward and embody the cornerstones of health and wellness in medical practice and education research—ensuring massage therapy is recognized as an essential part of a healthy lifestyle today and into the future.”

Dr. Guptha is passionate about advancing education, securing regulation, and facilitating the profession at large toward global recognition. Dr. Guptha is an NCBTMB Approved Provider and dedicates her time to promoting and teaching Ethics, Research, Musculoskeletal alignment techniques, and Business practices. Her professional career spans more than 20 years and has encompassed primary care, academic appointments, and the practice of massage therapy. In the past, she has presided as Dean of Academic Affairs and Campus President and managed multi-disciplinary education departments in healthcare, business, and technology. As an independent self-regulator/evaluator, she served as a national accreditation evaluator for degree programs. In addition, she has been an active member of the American Massage Therapy Association, which she presided as national president in 2007-2008.

“On behalf of all of us at NCBTMB, we are thrilled for Leena and her recent induction into the Hall of Fame,” shared Steve Kirin, chief executive officer. “As a driving force in the profession, Leena’s unmatched leadership, in partnership with our highly engaged Board of Directors, volunteers, stakeholders, and staff, continues to further define and advance the standards of massage therapy.”

For more information on the Massage Therapy Hall of Fame, please visit

The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) is an independent, private, nonprofit organization founded in 1992. The mission of NCBTMB is to define and advance the highest standards in the massage therapy and bodywork. In support of this mission, NCBTMB serves the profession through Board Certification, Approved Providers, and Assigned Schools. For more information, please visit


glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8