You are here


Two Esteemed Practitioners Join NCBTMB Board of Directors

November 13, 2014

BURR RIDGE, IL (November 13, 2014)—The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) announced today the exciting additions of two new Practitioner members to its Board of Directors. Newly elected members Brenda Jeanne Baker and Veronica Stern will each begin their four-year term effective January 1, 2015.

Coalition of National Massage Organizations ELAP Statement

February 06, 2014

February 6, 2014 — The Coalition of National Massage Therapy Organizations (Coalition) is pleased to share this group statement supporting the Entry-Level Analysis Project (ELAP) in anticipation of the project’s publication later this month.

Coalition of National Massage Therapy Organizations Meets for Collaboration

January 08, 2014

Representatives from all seven participating organizations in the Coalition of National Massage Therapy Organizations met December 11, 2013 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The meeting began with five hours of constructive exchange on reactions to The Core: Entry-Level Massage Education Blueprint, its companion document The Core: Entry-Level Analysis Project Report (ELAP), and discussion about project implementation.

Participants agreed that the documents will remain in draft form pending review by the boards of directors of the constituent organizations in January 2014 and development of an agreed upon Coalition statement. All project documents will be publicly released after this review.

Board Certification Awarded College Credit from Siena Heights University

December 13, 2013

Board Certification from NCBTMB is recognized as the equivalent of 33 College Credits toward a Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Massage Therapy

Oakbrook Terrace, IL (December 13, 2013) – For the first time, Board Certificants will be awarded college credit toward a degree.  Effective immediately, Siena Heights University will recognize Board Certification as valued at 33 of the 120 total credits required to earn a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Massage Therapy.

NCBTMB Announces Billie Shea as Government Relations Liaison

December 03, 2013

Oakbrook Terrace, IL (December 3, 2013) –NCBTMB announced today that Billie Shea, BCMT, will become its Government Relations Liaison.  In this role, Billie will represent and advocate on NCB’s behalf to the state boards regarding licensure within the massage therapy profession, and in particular, the importance of NCB’s licensure exams to be recognized by the states.

“We’re thrilled we found someone with such an amazing set of qualifications—perfect for this role,” says Steve Kirin, CEO of NCB.

Billie’s unique set of qualifications include:

NCBTMB Welcomes New Board Members

November 21, 2013

Oakbrook Terrace, IL (November 22, 2013) – NCBTMB announced today important transitions for the NCBTMB Board of Directors with the appointments of Michael McGillicuddy and Bruce Baltz, effective immediately. Elected members Teresa M. Matthews and Dr. Stuart Watts will also join the NCBTMB Board of Directors beginning January 1, 2014.

NCBTMB Board of Directors is proud to announce the appointment of McGillicuddy to the board based on his notable achievements and unmatched influence within the profession. Effective immediately, McGillicuddy will serve on the board for a three year term.

NCBTMB Announces New Board Chair

October 17, 2013

Oakbrook Terrace, IL  (October 17, 2013) – NCBTMB announced today the resignation of its current Chair, Susan Toscano, BA, BCTMB.  Leena Guptha, D.O., BCTMB, and most-recently Chair-Elect, will transition to Board Chair effective immediately.

NCBTMB Elevates Steve Kirin to CEO

May 21, 2013

Oakbrook Terrace, IL  (May 22, 2013) – The Board of NCBTMB is pleased to announce the promotion of Steve Kirin to Chief Executive Officer.  Stating that his transitional role and major organizational objectives are nearly complete, Mike Williams, interim CEO of NCBTMB, recommended Kirin’s promotion to the post.  The promotion of Steve Kirin, the current Chief Operating Officer, is a natural progression of the changes implemented at NCBTMB over the past twenty months.

Congratulations to New Members Joining the NCBTMB Board of Directors

November 15, 2012

We are pleased to announce a number of Board transitions effective January 1, 2013.

Sue Toscano (current Chair-Elect) will become Chair beginning January 1, 2013. At that time, our current Chair, Alexa Zaledonis moves into her newly elected role as Treasurer, replacing Ronni Burns who has served as Treasurer for two years. Ronni will remain on the NCB Board as a public member.

Congratulations to our new Chair-Elect, Dr. Leena Guptha, who was elected by the current Board during our November Board meeting. Dr. Guptha will become Chair effective January 1, 2015.